About a year ago

I really have no reason to write but I will.

So I’ve been busy over the last few days and I really shouldn’t be, this is the Christmas break and it is a break, from school, from stress, from structure but I see the exact opposite. I’ve never been great with time management but recently I had to change everything in order to really get things done but this new change makes me reflect brings on how different things are every single year. Literally a year ago I was sleeping in my Cousins room, in my Aunts House, In a compound in Gatenga, Kigali, Rwanda.

I’ve never written about my experience there but I must confess, it is too deep for me to summarize it into a blog post, but I can try. I’ll be completely honest I have no idea when I landed but I can tell you that it was a long trip, literally 2 full days. My mom, 13 year old sister, 3 year old sister (the amount of luggage I had to carry. LAWD HAVE MERCY ON MY ARMS!!) and me woke up at 6 am to catch a bus at the train station heading to the Montreal Airport. We caught it at 7 am, gave our last hugs to my Aunty J and lil Cousin then took drove into this adventure. I sat in the back of the bus listening to “The Motion” “Come thru” by Drake and “Fire” by Big Sean, this became a reoccurring theme.

About two hours later we finally got the airport and went to get our tickets for our KLM flight, Montreal to Amsterdam. This was my first trip out of Canada since I immigrated here in 2003. I was excited, nervous, but surprisingly relaxed. I’ve always been a mellow person, I usually don’t stress. The only thing that really annoyed me was how much luggage I had to carry, There was sooooooooo many bags and half of them were 50+ pounds and as the only guy on this expedition I had to carry them, this was the unwritten rule. At the same time my mom can get disorganized at times, I don’t blame her but when you’re one of the last people to board an 8 hour flight it does get annoying. My one goal was window seat! I was lucky enough to sit beside a German couple that cared more about cuddling during the flight than looking at clouds surrounding the aircraft.

The liftoff was one of the coolest things I’ve ever experienced, I felt like a little kid going on his first roller coaster. I felt butterflies in my stomach and immediately felt my ears plunged like a plumber trying to fix you’re brown disaster. When we started to coast I was so excited! I had to contain myself and not look/act like an amateur. On the surface I was as cool as a cucumber but deep down I was turning up like ILOVEMAKONNEN on a Tuesday. That feeling disappeared after 2 hours in this plane, when my ass started to feel numb and the Movies on the screen in front of me got boring. The occasional coffee/tea helped but I was bored out of my mind. I caught sleep when the sky got dark and Eventually woke up the light of day over Europe. After 8 hours we landed at Schipol Airport in Amsterdam, Mid December 2013.

A year later I’m in my room writing a blog, wow time goes fast.

To Be Continued……

Leave a Reply

